Angela Kihara

Heels & Green
3 min readJul 10, 2023

Hello, I am Angela Kihara, known to some as The Utopian Fantasy, (insert firm e-handshake).

Welcome to my neck of the woods…
A little about myself…

I’d call myself an artsy geek… with a loving for pencil sketching and poetry. I especially enjoy those influenced by African roots and childhood memories.

Poetry, to me is a language, a way of telling the world of the ups and downs of life. I enjoy on a bunch of levels ranging from reading to reciting to writing. As a contemporary poet in Africa, I look for inspiration from experiences and a number of well-known poets like Maya Angelou and Warsan Shire. And I am always looking to explore and expand my collection so if you know any, send them through my way. I have written quite a number and share them on my writing space at http://utopianfantasy.co.ke/

I love to write. Although I may struggle with the occasional writer’s block, I run a blog. On my blog, I tell of life on a personal level. I speak on matters relationships and health; my take on love as a young person and the challenges that come with it. Once in a while, I may quip on other issues such as politics, health and the current issues globally.

Books have been in my blood forever. Having been brought up by the world’s best mother who doubles as a book-junkie, the love of books was simply family tradition. I enjoy contemporary African writers such as Chimamanda Adichie, Wole Soyinka, Wanjiru Koinange and other authors such as Paulo Coelho and Ken Follet. My book tastes range from African folklore, mystery and the occasional romance. Follow my reading on Goodreads and on the bookclubs I am a member of. Just search for #BookNookKe, #CoffeeWithAristotle and #EscapeBookClubKe on social.

Family is everything to me and is not necessarily biological. Experiences shared with them, have helped make me me. The people with whom I have created memories with in terms of love, fashion and business have left an imprint in my life, for such experiences I am forever grateful.

Professionally, I have a degree in BBIT from Strathmore University with an expertise in software and website creation. Together with a couple of friends, we run an IT Consultancy firm called 1809 LTD- funny story there. I also am a lawyer having studied at Riara University and I am currently pursuing my post graduate diploma at the Kenya School of Law. As such, I love research especially in the fields in the cross-section of IT and Law. I hope to one day write policy in cybersecurity.

I recently fell in love with farming and I am currently indulging heavily in it. I am learning how to grow barley and the ups and downs of that field. I am looking to get into vegetable farming especially in creating specialized “veggie boxes” for the urban resident who likes convenience. I also run a food blog at https://devour.ke/ with a similar page on Instagram.

Other skills under my belt are event organizing and management for art shows around Nairobi. I have an inclination to the arts with a liking specifically for music and other visual arts. Small intimate gatherings over a farm brunch where we listen to and discover new music and have wholesome conversations are my current happy place.

--

--

Heels & Green

A networking platform for young professional women to share, learn and grow with a focus on peer learning and support.